India tour of New Zealand 2019: Schedule & Preview

Posted By: Nitin Riaan

After the end of a tour of Australia, Indian cricket team will be touring New Zealand from 23rd January to 10th February for the limited overs. They will play a total of five ODIs and 3 T20Is. The ODI fixtures are part of both teams’ preparation for the 2019 ICC World Cup as both are prime contenders for winning it. The T20Is will take place on the same day as the corresponding women’s fixtures at the same venues. Last year when New Zealand visited India, the home team won both the T20I and ODI series 2-1. India and New Zealand are ranked second and third respectively in the ICC ODI rankings with 5 points difference between them.

New Zealand Team News 

The Kiwis kept the visiting side Sri Lanka winless in their entire tour of New Zealand and won the three-match ODI series 3-0 as well as the one-off T20I by 35 runs. Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls and the skipper himself are in great form and it will be challenging for the Indian bowlers to get over them.

Overall the team looks well settled and will be a tough contest for the Indian team to beat them. They also have a very strong pace attack to rattle the Indian batting in Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson.
Jimmy Neesham their best performer in the Sri Lanka series will be missed the most for he’s suffering from an injury which he picked in the third ODI.

New Zealand’s Squad for the first three ODIs
Kane Williamson (C), Collin Munro, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Collin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham(WK), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Doug Bracewell

Image Courtesy: Star Sports
India Team News

Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for this tour. Mohammed Siraj being named as his replacement.Siddharth Kaul will be replacing Mohammed Shami for the T20Is. Shubman Gill and Vijay Shankar are also included in the squad in place of KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya respectively after the duo being suspended by BCCI for using inappropriate comments in the show ‘Koffee with Karan‘.

Shubman Gill India’s latest cricketing prodigy will be hoping to make his international debut in this series. He can fill the middle order void and has good experience of playing in New Zealand soil. Hardik Pandya’s unavailability makes Vijay Shankar a vital asset for the Indian team. Apart from Virat and Rohit the two best ODI batsmen in the world, supercool Dhoni looks in good form.

India’s Squad
Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Raydu (ODIs ), Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja (ODIs), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Siddharth Kaul (T20Is), Rishabh Pant (T20Is) , Mohammed Shami (ODIs ).

Full Schedule

1st ODI: 23rd January, McLean Park, Napier 7:30 AM   IST LIVE
2nd ODI: 26th January, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui 7:30 AM IST LIVE
3rd ODI: 28th  January, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui 7:30 AM IST LIVE
4th ODI: 31st  January, Sheddon Park, Hamilton 7:30 AM IST LIVE
5th ODI: 3rd February, Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington 7:30 AM IST LIVE

1st T20I: 6th February, Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington 12:30 PM IST LIVE
2nd T20I: 8th February, Eden Park, Auckland 11:30 AM IST LIVE
3rd T20I: 10th February, Sheddon Park, Hamilton 12:30 PM IST LIVE

Live Telecast: Star Sports 1 (English), Star Sports 1 (Hindi), Star Sports 1 (Tamil), Star Sports 1 (Telugu), Star Sports 1 (Kannada) and Hotstar (Online Streaming)

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)