King Kohli Makes History With Clean Sweep of ICC Awards

Virat Kohli has become the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards in the same year following an extraordinary 2018.

In addition to these, he was also named captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year for 2018.

The 30-year-old scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests with five hundreds in 2018, while he hit 1,202 runs, including six tons, in 14 ODI’s at an average of 133.55.

Image Courtesy: ICC

“It feels amazing,” said Kohli. “It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year.

“I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing.”

Rishabh Pant has been named the Emerging Player of the Year by the ICC for 2018.

Pant made his international debut in August 2018 during the third Test between India and England. Pant became the first Indian wicket keeper to score a test century in England and equaled the record for the most catches taken in a test, with 11 in Adelaide in December. He then also became the first wicket keeper from his country to score a Test hundred in Australia.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)