Dominating Australia sweep series

Australia wins the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy defeating Srilanka by 2-0. Mitchell Starc thrashed the hosts to pick up a 10-wicket haul for the match leading a massive 366-run defeat in the Canberra Test.

The tourists could muster only 149 while chasing down a monstrous target of 516. Starc bowled consistently at over 90mph in the Test, found swing under clear blue skies and also mixed it up with the bouncer.

Image Courtesy: Getty Images

Sri Lanka have a lot of soul-searching to do. The visitors seem to be in the midst of an angry storm where they are struggling to explore a new route to sail through the troubled waters. Meanwhile, after a morale-sapping Test series loss to India, the hosts would be delighted to get back to winnings ways.

Brief scores: Australia 534/5 decl. (Joe Burns 180, Travis Head 161, Kurtis Patterson 114; Vishwa Fenrando 3-126) and 196/3 decl. (Usman Khawaja 101; Kasun Rajitha 2-64) ) beat Sri Lanka 215 (Dimuth Karunaratne 59; Mitchell Starc 5-54) and 149 (Kusal Mendis 42; Mitchell Starc 5-46) by 366 runs.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)